- SENS

14 October is International E-Waste Day!

These are figures that make you sit up and take notice: According to the UN, by 2021 every person on earth will produce an average of 7.6 kg of e-waste. That adds up to a waste mountain of over 57 million tonnes worldwide. Yet only one sixth of this is disposed of properly and in an environmentally sound manner. The consequences for the environment are serious.

Fortunately, the situation in Switzerland looks better: We are the European champion in taking back electrical appliances - and in some cases by a wide margin. In the last 30 years, no less than 1.2 million used electrical appliances have been collected and recycled in our country. This has not only made it possible to recycle more than 900,000 tonnes of valuable materials, but also to avoid 3,700 tonnes of pollutant emissions, thus reducing the annual environmental impact in Switzerland by 4%. It is not for nothing that Switzerland is considered a role model for many countries when it comes to implementing a well-functioning eRecycling system.

Appliances that are no longer used are often forgotten
But as impressive as these figures are: Even in Switzerland, e-waste is not always disposed of immediately. This is shown by a study conducted by the School of Applied Psychology at the University of Applied Sciences Northwestern Switzerland on behalf of SENS eRecycling. According to surveys by the WEEE Forum, the association of European take-back systems, there are on average 70 electrical appliances in a European household. As a rule, 11 of them are no longer needed. Extrapolated for Switzerland, that's over 40 million electrical appliances. Once these appliances are put in the drawer or the cellar, they often stay there. For weeks, months, years...

SENS eRecycling is therefore using International E-Waste Day to raise awareness of the issue and to draw attention to the "treasure" that lies dormant in our cellars, drawers and attics. So, don't just leave your electrical appliances that you no longer need lying around at home, but try to sell, give away or repair them even more consistently than before. Or - if all that is no longer possible - take them to the nearest disposal point even faster.

Join the competition now!

- SENS

Le 14 octobre est l’International E-Waste Day

Les chiffres à ce propos éveillent l’attention: selon l’ONU, chaque personne sur la planète produira en moyenne 7.6 kilogrammes de déchets électroniques en 2021. À l’échelle mondiale, cela représente une montagne de déchets lourds de plus de 57 millions de tonnes. Et pourtant, seulement un sixième de cette masse est éliminé dans les règles de l’art et dans le respect de l’environnement. Les conséquences pour l’environnement sont graves.

La situation en Suisse semble heureusement meilleure: nous sommes leader en Europe en matière de reprise d’appareils électriques, et ce parfois avec une longueur d’avance importante. Ce n’est pas un hasard si de nombreux pays prennent la Suisse pour modèle lorsqu’il s’agit de la mise en œuvre d’un système eRecycling efficace.

Les appareils hors d’usage sont souvent oubliés
Même dans nos maisons, les déchets électroniques ne sont pas toujours éliminés immédiatement. Telle est la conclusion d’une étude réalisée à la demande de SENS eRecycling par la Haute École de psychologie appliquée de la Haute École spécialisée du Nord-Ouest de la Suisse. Selon des enquêtes du WEEE Forum, la fusion de systèmes de reprise européens, on compte en moyenne 70 appareils électriques dans un seul ménage en Europe. 11 de ces appareils sont généralement hors d’usage. Par extrapolation, cela représente plus de 40 millions d’appareils électriques en Suisse. Une fois que ces appareils sont rangés dans le tiroir ou dans la cave, ils y restent généralement. Des semaines, des mois, des années durant…

SENS eRecycling profite de l’International E-Waste Day pour sensibiliser à ce thème et souhaite attirer l’attention sur les «trésors» qui sommeillent dans nos caves, nos greniers et nos tiroirs. Alors plutôt que de laisser traîner chez vous vos appareils électriques hors d’usage, essayez encore plus systématiquement qu’avant de les vendre, de les offrir ou de les réparer. Ou bien, si ces différentes options ne sont plus envisageables, de les déposer encore plus vite au centre de collecte le plus proche.

Participer ici au jeu-concours