Sustainability

Nowadays, promising sustainability is almost considered de rigueur. Actually being able to deliver on this promise in all areas, however, is another matter that entails wide-ranging facets. Our environmental objectives are just as much part of this process as our social and economic goals.

Around 85,000 tonnes of electrical and electronic appliances were collected and recycled in the SENS take-back system in 2016. The volume for Switzerland as a whole is even greater at 138,000 tonnes. An impressive figure that highlights much more important achievements in our life cycle assessment.

With its recycling of raw materials found in electrical and electronic waste, SENS eRecycling makes an important contribution to ensuring the reuse of recyclable materials. In 2016 alone,

  • 1,700 tonnes of aluminium were collected, enough to build 10 Airbus A380s;
  • 57,000 tonnes of iron and steel were collected, enough to build 49 ICE long-distance trains;
  • 11 kilograms of gold were collected, enough to produce around 210 wedding rings.

The environmental benefits of the electrical and electronic equipment recycling performed by SENS and its partners in 2016 were determined by the renowned firm Carbotech AG on the basis of a life cycle assessment. The calculated environmental benefits score of 2,800 billion environmental impact points (UBP) roughly equates to the annual environmental impact of the city of Bern (140,000 people). Some 92 per cent of the environmental benefits of SENS are generated through the prevention of pollutant emissions. The recycling of materials only accounts for 8 per cent.

SENS eRecycling thus practices environmental protection in a very efficient manner.

Nachhaltigkeit

Nachhaltigkeit zu versprechen gehört heute schon fast zum guten Ton. Diese dann in allen Bereichen auch wirklich umzusetzen, ist eine andere, umfangreiche Sache. Unsere ökologischen Ziele gehören hier genauso dazu, wie die sozialen oder die ökonomischen.

Rund 85 000 Tonnen Elektro- und Elektronikgeräte wurden 2016 im SENS-Rücknahmesystem gesammelt und recycelt. Die gesamtschweizerische Menge beläuft sich sogar auf 138 000 Tonnen. Eine beeindruckende Grösse, die in unserer Ökobilanz noch viel gewichtigere Leistungen aufzeigt.

SENS eRecycling leistet mit dem Rohstoffrecycling von Elektro- und Elektronikschrott einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Wiederverwertung von Wertstoffen. Allein im Jahr 2016 wurden

  • 1700 Tonnen Aluminium gesammelt, mit dem man 10 A380-Airbusse herstellen könnte;
  • 47 000 Tonnen Eisen und Stahl gesammelt, mit dem man 49 ICE-Fernverkehrszüge herstellen könnte;
  • 11 Kilogramm Gold gesammelt, mit dem man rund 210 Eheringe herstellen könnte.
Ökobilanz SENS 2015 Grafik


Der Umweltnutzen des Elektrogeräterecyclings durch die SENS und ihre Partner wurde für das Jahr 2016 mittels Ökobilanz durch das renommierte Büro Carbotech AG ermittelt. Der Umweltnutzen von 2 800 Milliarden UBP (Umweltbelastungspunkten) liegt dabei in der Grössenordnung der jährlichen Umweltbelastung der Stadt Bern (140 000 Personen). 92 Prozent der Umweltleistungen durch die SENS wird durch die Verhinderung von Schadstoffemissionen generiert. Das Recycling von Wertstoffen trägt 8 Prozent dazu bei.

SENS eRecycling praktiziert somit Umweltschutz auf eine sehr effiziente Art und Weise.