- SENS

14 October is International E-Waste Day!

These are figures that make you sit up and take notice: According to the UN, by 2021 every person on earth will produce an average of 7.6 kg of e-waste. That adds up to a waste mountain of over 57 million tonnes worldwide. Yet only one sixth of this is disposed of properly and in an environmentally sound manner. The consequences for the environment are serious.

Fortunately, the situation in Switzerland looks better: We are the European champion in taking back electrical appliances - and in some cases by a wide margin. In the last 30 years, no less than 1.2 million used electrical appliances have been collected and recycled in our country. This has not only made it possible to recycle more than 900,000 tonnes of valuable materials, but also to avoid 3,700 tonnes of pollutant emissions, thus reducing the annual environmental impact in Switzerland by 4%. It is not for nothing that Switzerland is considered a role model for many countries when it comes to implementing a well-functioning eRecycling system.

Appliances that are no longer used are often forgotten
But as impressive as these figures are: Even in Switzerland, e-waste is not always disposed of immediately. This is shown by a study conducted by the School of Applied Psychology at the University of Applied Sciences Northwestern Switzerland on behalf of SENS eRecycling. According to surveys by the WEEE Forum, the association of European take-back systems, there are on average 70 electrical appliances in a European household. As a rule, 11 of them are no longer needed. Extrapolated for Switzerland, that's over 40 million electrical appliances. Once these appliances are put in the drawer or the cellar, they often stay there. For weeks, months, years...

SENS eRecycling is therefore using International E-Waste Day to raise awareness of the issue and to draw attention to the "treasure" that lies dormant in our cellars, drawers and attics. So, don't just leave your electrical appliances that you no longer need lying around at home, but try to sell, give away or repair them even more consistently than before. Or - if all that is no longer possible - take them to the nearest disposal point even faster.

Join the competition now!

- SENS

Am 14. Oktober ist International E-Waste Day!

Es sind Zahlen, die aufhorchen lassen: Gemäss UNO wird im Jahr 2021 jeder Mensch auf der Erde im Durchschnitt 7,6 kg Elektroschrott produzieren. Das ergibt weltweit einen über 57 Millionen Tonnen schweren Abfallberg. Doch nur ein Sechstel davon wird fach- und umweltgerecht entsorgt. Die Folgen für die Umwelt sind gravierend.

Die Situation in der Schweiz sieht erfreulicherweise besser aus: Wir sind Europameisterin in der Rücknahme von Elektrogeräten – und das teils mit grossem Abstand. In den letzten 30 Jahren wurden bei uns nicht weniger als 1,2 Millionen gebrauchte Elektrogeräte gesammelt und recycelt. Dadurch konnten nicht nur über 900'000 Tonnen Wertstoffe recycelt werden, sondern auch 3'700 Tonnen Schadstoffemissionen vermieden und somit die jährliche Umweltbelastung in der Schweiz um 4 % reduziert werden. Nicht umsonst gilt die Schweiz für viele Länder als Vorbild, wenn es um die Implementierung eines gut funktionierenden eRecycling-Systems geht.

Nicht mehr gebrauchte Geräte werden oft vergessen
Doch so beeindruckend diese Zahlen auch sind: Auch in der Schweiz wird Elektroschrott nicht immer sofort entsorgt. Das zeigt eine Studie der Hochschule für angewandte Psychologie der Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz, die im Auftrag von SENS eRecycling durchgeführt wurde. Gemäss Erhebungen des WEEE-Forums, dem Zusammenschluss europäischer Rücknahmesysteme, gibt’s in einem europäischen Haushalt im Durchschnitt 70 Elektrogeräte. 11 davon werden in der Regel nicht mehr gebraucht. Hochgerechnet für die Schweiz sind das über 40 Millionen Elektrogeräte. Wandern diese Geräte erst einmal in die Schublade oder in den Keller, dann bleiben sie oft auch dort. Für Wochen, Monate, Jahre…

SENS eRecycling nutzt deshalb den International E-Waste Day um über das Thema zu sensibiliseren und möchte darauf aufmerksam machen, was für ein «Schatz» in unseren Kellern, Schubladen und Estrichen schlummert. Also, lasst eure Elektrogeräte, die ihr nicht mehr braucht, zuhause nicht einfach rumliegen, sondern versucht sie noch konsequenter als bisher zu verkaufen, verschenken oder zu reparieren. Oder – wenn das alles nicht mehr möglich ist – noch schneller zur nächsten Entsorgungsstelle zu bringen.

Jetzt am Wettbewerb mitmachen!