The bag was too full already. It was cold and rainy. I was under a lot of pressure at the time. Excuses! We all tend to resort to them when we can’t be bothered to dispose of an electrical or electronic appliance properly. That is why we’ve decided to have a look at the most popular recycling excuses this year. Our conclusion: even the smartest excuse is not nearly as clever as Switzerland’s eRecycling system.

Be completely honest: Do you sometimes find excuses when you don’t want to take your old appliances to the collection point? 

Do you just keep them around your house instead? You would not be the only person in Switzerland to do so. That is what our recently commissioned study has found.

This year, we give the people of Switzerland a chance to be heard. We want to know exactly what makes someone dispose of an electrical or electronic appliance properly – or not. Of course, we are also interested in the most creative excuses. That includes yours!
 

The Video could not be loaded.
If you wish to benefit from this service, you have to agree to the use of third party cookies in your cookie settings .

The old, broken cuckoo clock was a gift from Uncle Franz. The talking teddy bear, which spoke its last words over a decade ago, use to be a child’s favourite toy once upon a time. It can be hard to admit that certain things are no longer fit for use or repair.

Instead of taking them to the collection point or the nearest sales business, we often take them to the basement first. And that’s where they stay. For weeks, months, years. Until we forget that we still have them. Our study has found that, too.

You may think: What’s wrong with the broken lawnmower in the garage? It’s not bothering anyone. It’s not helping anyone, either. Especially not the environment. And that’s a pity. Every electrical and electronic appliance contains many valuable raw materials, such as iron, aluminium, copper and gold. With appropriate recycling, they can be extracted and reused.

When you dispose of an electrical or electronic appliance, you don’t lose anything: you gain a reason to be joyful. Because it is the last good deed that your favourite appliance can do for the environment. We think: ditch your excuses and join in!


Competition: share your best excuse and win a SBB Gift Card worth CHF 300.–!

There really aren’t many good reasons for keeping an old electrical or electronic appliance in your house for years instead of taking it to the nearest collection point or sales business. We want to know your most creative excuse anyway.

Participating is easy: just use the form below and tell us why you failed to dispose of a particular electrical or electronic appliance. A picture would be perfect. With a bit of luck, you will win a SBB gift card worth CHF 300.–. Good luck!

Participate here

Die Tasche war schon zu voll. Es war kalt und hat geregnet. Es war eine stressige Zeit. Ausreden! Wir alle benutzen sie, wenn wir mal keine Lust haben, ein Elektrogerät schnell zur Entsorgung zu bringen. Deshalb haben wir dieses Jahr beliebte Recycling-Ausreden ein wenig genauer angeschaut. Und sind zum Schluss gekommen: So clever wie das Schweizer eRecycling ist selbst die klügste Ausrede nicht!

Hand aufs Herz: Benutzt du auch manchmal Ausreden, um deine ausgedienten Elektrogeräte nicht sofort entsorgen zu müssen? 

Bewahrst du kaputte Geräte stattdessen ab und zu bei dir zuhause auf? Damit bist du in der Schweiz nicht allein. Das hat eine Studie, die wir in Auftrag gegeben haben, herausgefunden.

Deshalb lassen wir in diesem Jahr die Schweizer Bevölkerung zu Wort kommen. Denn wir wollen genau wissen, warum Elektrogeräte entsorgt werden – und warum eben nicht. Und natürlich interessiert uns auch, wie kreativ die Ausreden sind. Hier bist dann übrigens auch du gefragt!

Das Video kann nicht geladen werden.
Wenn Sie von diesem Service profitieren wollen, müssen Sie in Ihren Datenschutzeinstellungen der Anwendung von Drittanbieter Cookies zustimmen.

Die alte kaputte Kuckucksuhr war ein Geschenk von Onkel Franz und der sprechende Teddy, der schon lange verstummt ist, hat einem als Kind so viel Freude bereitet: Uns einzugestehen, dass bestimmte Geräte nicht mehr zu gebrauchen sind und auch nicht mehr repariert werden können, fällt uns manchmal schwer.

Deshalb werden die Geräte nicht sofort zur Sammelstelle oder ins nächste Verkaufsgeschäft gebracht, sondern landen zuerst einmal im Keller. Und dort bleiben sie dann auch. Für Wochen, Monate, Jahre. Bis man vergisst, dass man die Geräte überhaupt noch hat. Auch das hat die Studie gezeigt.

Aber der kaputte Rasenmäher in der Garage stört doch niemanden, sagst du jetzt vielleicht. Er nützt aber auch niemandem. Ganz besonders unserer Umwelt nicht. Und das ist schade. Denn in jedem Elektrogerät stecken viele wertvolle Rohstoffe wie Eisen, Aluminium, Kupfer und Gold, die durch fachgerechtes Recycling gewonnen und wiederverwendet werden können.

Das Entsorgen eines Elektrogeräts ist also kein Verlust, sondern ein Grund zur Freude. Denn es ist die letzte gute Tat, die du mit deinem Lieblingsgerät für die Umwelt leisten kannst. Deshalb finden wir: Vergiss deine Ausreden und mach mit!


Wettbewerb: Ausrede teilen und E-Bike gewinnen!

Eigentlich gibt es kaum gute Gründe, um ausgediente Elektrogeräte nicht zur Sammelstelle oder ins nächste Verkaufsgeschäft zu bringen. Trotzdem sind wir gespannt auf deine kreativste Ausrede. 

So einfach geht’s: Verrate uns direkt hier oder auf Facebook, warum du ein bestimmtes Elektrogerät nicht entsorgt hast. Das Ganze am liebsten mit Bild. Und schon gewinnst du mit etwas Glück ein E-Bike im Wert von 2000 Franken. Wir drücken dir die Daumen!

Hier mitmachen