Legal framework

Systematic eRecycling is vital to the protection of the environment. With the Swiss Ordinance on the Return, Taking Back and Disposal of Electrical and Electronic Equipment (ORDEE), the legislator has created the foundations for organising eRecycling in Switzerland.


Efficient and competitive

Thanks to the so-called advance recycling fee (ARF), which is already paid when purchasing an electrical or electronic appliance, sustainable eRecycling in Switzerland can be competitively financed. It also ensures that eRecycling can be implemented simply and efficiently: disused electrical and electronic appliances are taken back by manufacturers, importers, retailers and collection points, and added to the eRecycling life cycle.


ORDEE – the Swiss Ordinance on the Return, Taking Back and Disposal of Electrical and Electronic Equipment

The ORDEE came into effect on 1 July 1998 (see the wording of the ORDEE legislation). It governs the handling of disused electrical and electronic appliances. Retailers are obligated to take back disused appliances from their product range free of charge and have these professionally recycled. Thanks to the SENS eRecycling system, this legal requirement is handled and implemented simply and efficiently.

Consumers can simply return their disused electrical and electronic appliances to manufacturers, retailers, importers and all collection points free of charge. Manufacturers, retailers and importers sign up with SENS eRecycling and set up a collection order, after which the disused electrical and electronic appliances are collected. SENS eRecycling thereby ensures a customer-friendly and practical service.


ARF – the advance recycling fee

With the introduction of the ARF, the funding for reusing electrical and electronic appliances is secured. The system operated by SENS eRecycling and all its partners thereby makes an important contribution to reducing environmental pollution. This is all made possible because consumers accept this system and pay a contribution towards it when purchasing a new electrical or electronic appliance. The amount paid depends on the appliance type and weight. Each year, the ARF tariffs are re-assessed by the ARF Committee so that no customer ends up paying too much.


ORDEE vs ARF

Whereas the ORDEE provides the legal basis and fundamental principle for eRecycling, the ARF ensures that the resulting costs are covered.

Précisions juridiques/politiques

Afin de préserver l’environnement, il est indispensable de recycler les appareils électriques et électroniques de manière appropriée. Avec l’ordonnance sur la restitution, la reprise et l’élimination des appareils électriques et électroniques (OREA), le législateur a créé une base permettant d’organiser l’eRecycling en Suisse.


Efficacité et respect des règles de la concurrence

Grâce à la taxe anticipée de recyclage (TAR), dont le consommateur s’acquitte dès l’achat d’un appareil électrique ou électronique, il est possible de financer en Suisse un eRecycling durable et respectueux des règles de la concurrence. Cela permet dans le même temps d’assurer un processus d’eRecycling simple et efficace: les appareils électriques et électroniques usagés sont repris gratuitement par les fabricants, les importateurs, les commerçants et les centres de collecte et finissent dans la boucle eRecycling.


OREA: l’ordonnance sur la restitution, la reprise et l’élimination des appareils électriques et électroniques

L’OREA est entrée en vigueur le 1er juillet 1998 (cf. texte de loi de l’OREA). Elle règle la question de la récupération des appareils électriques et électroniques usagés. Les commerçants sont tenus de reprendre gratuitement les appareils usagés de même type que ceux proposés dans leur assortiment et de procéder à un recyclage dans les règles de l’art. Le système SENS eRecycling garantit une application simple et efficace de cette obligation légale.

Les consommateurs peuvent rapporter leurs appareils électriques et électroniques usagés en toute simplicité et gratuitement auprès des fabricants, des commerçants et des importateurs ainsi que dans tous les centres de collecte. Les fabricants, les commerçants et les importateurs se connectent ensuite au système SENS eRecycling et émettent un ordre de reprise afin que les appareils usagés soient récupérés. SENS eRecycling offre ainsi un service agréable et pratique aux clients.


TAR: la taxe anticipée de recyclage

Grâce à l’introduction de la TAR, le financement de la valorisation des appareils électriques et électroniques est assuré. Le système SENS eRecycling et tous ses partenaires contribuent ainsi de manière notable à réduire la pollution. Cette avancée est possible parce que les consommateurs acceptant ce système paient une contribution au recyclage lors de l’achat de tout appareil électrique ou électronique neuf. Le montant de cette contribution dépend du type d’appareil et de son poids. Chaque année, les tarifs TAR sont réévalués par la commission TAR afin d’éviter que les acheteurs ne paient des montants surfaits.


Différence entre l’OREA et la TAR

L’OREA est la base légale contenant les principes de base, tandis que la TAR règle de manière concrète le financement des coûts de recyclage.