- Development

eRecycling motion

The Environment, Spatial Planning and Energy Committee (ESPEC) unanimously approved the motion “Urgent action required for the taking back and recycling of waste electrical and electronic equipment” (17.3636).

The motion calls for all market partners to be obliged to add an advance recycling fee to retail prices. This fee will be used to finance the recycling of waste electrical and electronic equipment and lamps.

A total of 90 percent of the market players have agreed to participate in a voluntary take-back system. An amendment to the existing regulation is necessary due to the remaining 10 percent of market players and online retailers and importers that do not currently pay a fee. The SENS Foundation believes that the continuation of the existing voluntary system is the best solution. However, free-riders should also be obliged to contribute financially to recycling costs.

The motion has been added to the agenda for the Council of States for 20 September 2018. If the Council of States approves this motion, the Federal Council must put forward a solution.

- Développement

Motion relative à l’eRecycling

La Commission de l’environnement du Conseil des États (CEATE) a accepté à l’unanimité la motion «Mesures à prendre d’urgence concernant le système de reprise et de recyclage des appareils électriques et électroniques» (17.3636).

La motion exige que tous les partenaires du marché s’engagent à majorer le prix de vente d’une taxe anticipée de recyclage. Cette taxe permettra de financer le recyclage des appareils électriques et des luminaires.

90% des acteurs du marché se sont affiliés à un système de reprise volontaire. Le règlement existant doit être modifié en raison des 10% restants ainsi que des commerces en ligne livrant des produits en Suisse et des importateurs, qui ne paient pas de taxe. La Fondation SENS est persuadée que le maintien du système volontaire existant est la meilleure solution. Les resquilleurs doivent toutefois être contraints à apporter une contribution au recyclage.

La motion est inscrite à l’ordre du jour du Conseil des États du 20 septembre 2018. Si le Conseil des États l’adopte, le Conseil fédéral devra présenter une solution.